top of page
Search
Writer's picturedarbyinthekitchen

Light Thanksgiving Dinner

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

I get so excited for Thanksgiving dinner every year, but the over stuffed feeling isn't that great, so I decided to make a lighter dinner my family could enjoy before the big day!


Sweet potato casserole is my dad's favorite, but my siblings prefer the mashed kind, what a dilemma! So instead of making sugary sweet potato casserole, I made a creamy, cinnamon-y, lightly sweetened, sweet potato mash! Satisfying the mashed potato lovers too! I actually reduced the carbs in the mash by adding canned pumpkin. This gives you extra water content, without sacrificing flavor, so you can eat more! If you're not a fan of sweet potatoes, baked golden potatoes are a nice substitute.


Pumpkin Mash Ingredients:

5 c. roughly diced sweet potatoes

2 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice

1/4 c. super sweet blend

2 tsp salt

1- 16 oz. can of pumpkin

Instructions:

Boil sweet potatoes in pot of water until tender (about 15 min). Check with a fork.

When done, strain from water and put in a big bowl, mash with a potato masher until desired consistency, I like mine slightly chunky. Add other ingredients, and mix well. Taste for sufficient saltiness and spices. I actually put WAY more spice into mine, but I like my food extremely flavorful, (Technically, if you follow THM, you could eat 1 1/4 cups to reach your 45 grams of carbs. Trust me, I added it all up numbers wise.)

Or, slice as many Golden Potatoes as you like in half, spray a baking sheet lightly with avocado or olive oil spray, place potatoes, cut side down on pan, and bake at 400 Fahrenheit for 25-30 min.

Note: This would be a great place to add some fat to the meal for the children, creamy butter in the sweet potatoes, or grated cheese on the Golden potatoes would be ideal.


I think my favorite thing about this meal was the cranberry sauce. Along with turkey or chicken breast (preferable smoked, my dad gifts me with plenty of smoked turkey at Thanksgiving time...love you Daddy!) this sauce brings a tangy and sweet flavor without the sugar!

Cranberry sauce ingredients:

1- 16oz. bag of frozen or fresh cranberries

3 c. water

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

4 doonks of pure Stevia, or 2 Tbsp Super Sweet

1-2 drops of pure orange oil

(Variation, for a brighter sauce: sub cinnamon with 1 tsp of pineapple extract. For a richer version: sub orange oil with 1 tsp of vanilla.)


Instructions:

Boil the cranberries in the water until they pop, about 10 min. Place the berries and 1/2 c. of the hot water in a blender with the rest of the ingredients. Blend until desired consistency, again, I like mine slightly chunkier.


Last of all, a simple roasted vegetable, I chose asparagus, but brussel sprouts or okra are also amazing! This will bring a nice carnalized flavor to balance out the sweetness of the potato and cranberry sauce.


Roasted veggies ingredients:

2 bundles of fresh asparagus

Olive or avocado oil spray

Salt and pepper


Instructions:

Break ends off of asparagus (or just cut them where they look dry on a cutting board), and place on a large baking sheet, spray lightly with oil, sprinkle salt and pepper to coat, bake at 400 Fahrenheit for 25-30 min, until a little crispy on tips. (I use this method to roast any other vegetable from okra to carrots to brussel sprouts.)


I haven't nailed a perfect turkey/chicken recipe yet, but braising or broiling or roasting or grilling or smoking are all acceptable forms of cooking for the meat, as long as it's low in fat, this meal is an excellent E-meal for the THM ladies (or dudes) out there, longing for Thanksgiving before it's here like I am!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page